Menu Close

CPJFC History

Carey Park Junior Football Council was established in 1957 with four teams initially in the competition.

A nippers, Under 12, Under 14 and Under 18 teams all played under the control and administration of the Pastimes/Carey Park Football Club until 1978, when a separate administration was formed to control junior football in the Carey Park area.

During the years 1980 to 1990, Carey Park had in excess of fourteen teams in the competition from areas including Glen Padden, Picton, Sandridge Park and Withers with no less than nine Premierships being won by the Under 14 and 16 sides throughout that decade. Since then the club has continued to prosper with further success in 1994(U/16’s), 1999 & 2002(U/14’s), and in 2003 with an Under 14 team going through the year undefeated. In 2006 our U/16’s won their Grand Final and in 2007, two teams played and won their respective Grand Finals, the U/13 Blues and the U/15’s. This year (2009) was another successful year for the juniors with U/14 Blue and the U/16’s also playing in and winning their Grand Finals.

Carey Park has always been in the forefront of the junior football association by being represented in finals football with unprecedented regularity. Players such as Troy Ugle(Swan Districts/West Coast Eagles), Steven Bazzo(Swan Districts) Josh Gallop(East Fremantle), Paul and Jeremy Barnard (Essendon and East Perth) and more recently in 2009 Jamie Bennell (Melbourne FC), 2010 Lewis Jetta (Sydney Swans) and others all started their junior football within teams under the Carey Park banner.

Leave a Reply